Member Councils

The Canberra Region Joint Organisation is comprised of Bega Valley, Eurobodalla, Goulburn Mulwaree, Hilltops,  Queanbeyan-Palerang, Snowy Monaro, Snowy Valleys, Upper Lachlan, Wingecarribbee and Yass Valley. Collectively they form the Canberra Region Joint Organisation (CRJO).

Bega Valley


The Bega Valley Shire is located at the south-eastern extremity of New South Wales approximately half way between Sydney and Melbourne. The Shire’s coastal fringe extends from Wallaga Lake (Bermagui) in the north to Cape Howe and the Victorian border in the south. Collectively, this 106-kilometre section of coastline forms the beautiful Sapphire Coast. Inland, higher peaks of the Great Dividing Range give way to rolling hills, and numerous rivers and streams. Undoubtedly it is the natural environment that attracts residents and visitors to the area. The Shire covers an area of 6,052 square kilometres and has relatively small population of approximately 31,060 people (2006 Australian Bureau of Statistics Census data).

Visit Bega Valley Shire website


eurobodalla A local government area located on the beautiful south coast of NSW, surrounded by beaches, bays, rivers, mountain ranges and national parks, shaped by a rich cultural heritage, is recognised as a vibrant, caring community enjoying the quality of life afforded by the environment supported by excellence in community government. The Shire enjoys 83 beaches, four major river systems and lakes, and many islands and estuaries all occupied by a rich variety of sea, bird and animal life with 110 kilometres of coastline including the Batemans Marine Park and 3,400 square kilometres of land. More than 80 percent of the land is either national park or state forest.

Visit Eurobodalla Shire website

Goulburn Mulwaree

goulburnA local government area in central New South Wales, about 200 kilometres south-west of Sydney and 95 kilometres north-east of Canberra, bounded by Upper Lachlan Shire, Wingecarribee Shire, and Palerang Council area.

A sustainable vibrant community protecting, enhancing and enjoying Goulburn Mulwaree’s rich social, environmental and economic heritage.

Visit Goulburn Mulwaree Council website


Hilltops-logoHilltops Council is a local government area in the South West Slopes region of New South Wales. This area was formed on the 12 May 2016 from the merger of Boorowa Shire, Harden Shire and Young Shire. The local government area covers much the same area as the Hilltops wine region.

The Mayor of Hilltops Council is Cr Brian Ingram.  The largest town in Hilltops Council is Young. The other major urban centres are Boorowa, Murrumburrah and Harden. Other towns and localities in the Council include Bendick Murrell, Bribbaree, Frogmore, Galong, Jugiong, Kingsvale, Koorwatha, Maimuru, Millvale, Monteagle, Murringo, Reids Flat, Rugby, Rye Park, Thuddungra, Wirrimah and Wombat.

Visit Hilltops Council website


Queanbeyan City Council together with Palerang Council merged in May 2016 to establish the Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council. The Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council Local Government Area is 5,319km2 and is home to about 56,500 residents.  The Council will consist of 11 councillors when the Local Government elections are held in September 2017.   Council’s day-to-day operations are overseen by the General Manager who is supported by an Executive team.  Council employs about 400 staff who undertake a range of services.

Visit Queanbeyan-Palerang Council website

Snowy Monaro

Document  The Snowy Monaro is a region that is proud of its history.The Region covers 15,162 square kilometres with ten major urban areas, surrounded by rolling plains country and mountain ranges.

Mount Kosciuszko is located within the Kosciuszko National Park and with a height of 2,228m above sea level is Australia’s highest mountain. Mount Kosciuszko was named by the Polish explorer Count Paul Edmund Strzelecki in 1840; however Indigenous Australians may have ascended Mount Kosciuszko long before the first recorded ascent by Europeans.

The region is culturally diverse, thanks to the Snowy Scheme which saw over 100,000 people from over 30 countries coming to work on the scheme. To this day the Region enjoys the benefits of our cultural diversity.

Visit Snowy Monaro Regional Council website

Snowy Valleys Council

The Snowy Valleys Council is a local government area located in the South West Slopes region of New South Wales, Australia. This area was formed in 2016 from the merger of the Tumut Shire with the neighbouring Tumbarumba Shire.

Visit the Snowy Valleys Council website

Upper Lachlan

ULSC logo A local government area in the Southern Tablelands region of New South Wales, Australia.  The Shire was formed in February 2004 from Crookwell Shire and parts of Mulwaree, Gunning and Yass Shires.

Visit Upper Lachlan Shire Council website

Wingecarribee Shire Council

Located in the beautiful Southern Highlands of NSW, 1½ hours south-west of Sydney – Wingecarribee Shire Council is working to create and nurture a vibrant and diverse community in harmony with the urban, agricultural and natural environments of the region.

Visit the Wingecarribee Shire Council website

Yass Valley

yassA local government area in the Southern Tablelands region of New South Wales, Australia. The area is located adjacent to the Hume and Barton Highways and the Main Southern railway line.

Yass Valley has a population of 13,135 and comprises the town of Yass and Villages of BinalongBookhamBowning,GundarooMurrumbatemanSutton and Wee Jasper

Yass is a progressive town with excellent educational, medical, aged care, sporting and recreational facilities.

Binalong, Bowning, Gundaroo, Sutton and Wee Jasper have their own Primary Schools and also rural students have the option of travelling by bus for both Primary and High School.

Because of its proximity to the ACT, Yass residents also have easy access to work and education opportunities in Canberra whilst enjoying living in a country environment.

Visit Yass Valley Council website