The Canberra Region Joint Organisation (CRJO) provides a forum for councils, State agencies and other stakeholders to work together at a regional level to identify shared priorities. This will help to deliver important regional projects, delivering better outcomes for communities. Core Functions
  • regional strategic planning and priority setting
  • intergovernmental collaboration
  • regional leadership and advocacy
Membership The Canberra Region Joint Organisation (CRJO) represents 10 Councils in South-East NSW and includes the ACT Government. The NSW member councils include:
  • Bega Valley Shire Council
  • Eurobodalla Shire Council
  • Goulburn Mulwaree Council
  • Hilltops Council
  • Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council
  • Snowy Monaro Regional Council
  • Snowy Valleys Council
  • Upper Lachlan Shire Council
  • Wingecarribee Shire Council
  • Yass Valley Council
Associate membership
  • ACT Government
  • Wagga Wagga City Council
  • East Gippsland Shire Council
Together with the ACT Government they form the CRJO – download the CRJO map. The mission of the CRJO is to be a regional leader that facilitates opportunities and partnerships to create sustainable vibrant communities. Purpose
  • Drive regional growth and economic development projects; particularly in the space of export, investment and new business opportunities
  • Act in an advocacy role for the Region
  • Provide a forum to address Regional Issues
  • Coordinate Local Government services and facility provision
  • Facilitate resource sharing between Councils
  • Facilitate cost savings for Councils
  • Enhance the image of Local Government
  • Facilitate information dissemination and exchange
  • Facilitate economic development in the region
  • Seek and administer financial assistance/grants from other sources
  • Promote communication and cooperation
  • Provide a forum for the discussion of any matter which has a regional interest to Local Government Councils, and to issue advice to any Council, State Department or Corporation on any matter of regional significance
The Canberra Region is a unique and diverse geographic region which stretches from the South-West Slopes, through the Sydney-Canberra Corridor across the Eurobodalla down to the Sapphire Coast and then up to the Snowy Mountains. The total population of the CRJO region including the ACT is 750,000 and the total area of the region is 48,000 km2. The region produces and supports a wide range of primary industries including high quality meats, fine wool, dairy, horticulture, fishing and forestry. There is a significant tourism industry across the whole region, with health, education, public administration and construction being the main employment sectors in the ACT and Queanbeyan.

CRJO Board Ministerial Meetings
Australian Parliament House, Canberra
26-27 February 2020